Smartlynx stepper motor code (SPI)

Started by Rx7man, July 16, 2015, 09:06:04 AM

Rx7man

OK, so I got the smartlynx stepper motor controller.. I need some help getting the arduino to talk to it, and setting up the wiring

Here's a link to the documentation
http://www.robotshop.com/media/files/zip/documentation-h-elc-mdr-stp-2.zip
it has a little pseudocode in there, I'm just not sure where to start with it

I've never done anything with SPI before...  I have the connector for the smartlynx side of it, but I'm going to have to hack an end off it and fiddle with the rest of it (if I ever make a board I'll put a dedicated header on it)

In other news I've pretty much got the hardware part of the AFC done.. stepper motor is mounted, I have a few little adjustments to make to it yet, but it's looking OK

'94 dually,  67/67 HE351VE, NV5600, ~600hp
'93 ECLB 47RH, new toy truck, H pump project, 1000hp goal, 300K miles
93 XCLB auto, bone stock, 350K miles
93 XCLB 5spd, bone stock, 100K miles

hakcenter

If I get time this weekend I'll take a look at it, never made my own arduino library before, but it is SPI so you might be able to take a gander at the canbus library and sort of figure things out.. both are SPI
TS2009 Deḇarim 8:2
"And you shall remember that יהוה your Elohim led you all the way these forty years in the wilderness, to humble you, prove you, to know what is in your heart, whether you guard His commands or not.

Rx7man

alright, cool... Once I have a little example of how it works I can understand it and modify it to whatever I need

Rx7man

OK, I got to working on the code, but I have a problem.. they didn't include one of the functions for writing, so I kinda had to guess, and I'm not having any luck with it...

rather than post everything again, I'll post a link to the unhelpful Arduino forums SPI -> L6470 (smartlynx) stepper motor driver

Rx7man

OK, I got some code back from PhiRobotics.. it's for Atmel Studio, and I can't figure it out..