3.4L VGT Tacoma build

Started by anothernord, December 29, 2015, 08:12:30 AM

anothernord

Alright, I've finished my engine integration and most of the wiring.  Time for a build thread!  I'm a total newbie to Arduino but I'm fairly good at figuring stuff out. 

Vehicle:
2001 Tacoma 4x4 - 260,000 miles
3.4L 5VZ-FE
Spearco FMIC

20x4 LCD I2C display
Arduino Uno rev 3
10k pot for experimentation
LBB (of course)

Switch panel for whatev (VGT relay power is the switch with the cover)

I already have weatherpak connectors around , so I switched the turbo to match.

For my own reference:

Vane max position (fully closed)

Van min position (fully open)

Temporary LBB mounting + pot knob for manual adjustment of the actuator.

Last night I found that the first time I put the turbo together, I didn't get the vanes fully engaged, so they wouldn't slide all the way into the scroll.  So I've got some recalibration to do. 

The gas engines requires a little more control than the out of the box program, so I'll be wiring in RPM and TPS to map compressor speeds based on variables along those two axes. 

Rx7man

Nice job on the install!

Is the factory ECU still doing the fueling? How is it going to add fuel under boost?  I like the project :)

Here's something for you to try.. slow down the VGT updates, there seem to be 2 different styles of these turbos.. some need updates every couple milliseconds before they "fail", others (mine) can go for as long as 75ms between updates.
'94 dually,  67/67 HE351VE, NV5600, ~600hp
'93 ECLB 47RH, new toy truck, H pump project, 1000hp goal, 300K miles
93 XCLB auto, bone stock, 350K miles
93 XCLB 5spd, bone stock, 100K miles

hakcenter

You're also talking a 3.4L vs a 5.9L diesel, you may want to just bump the whole curves up by 2cm

And your default curve is set to 1, http://wiki.lilbb.com/v1_1#turbo_rpm_curve
TS2009 Deḇarim 8:2