Lil' Blackbox

General => General Discussion => Topic started by: rodn on October 10, 2017, 01:21:23 PM

Title: HE300VG
Post by: rodn on October 10, 2017, 01:21:23 PM
hi guys
does anyone have a log of J1939 data from a HE300VG or calibration packet information they could share
trying to get this thing to talk on the bench

thanks a lot
Rod
Title: Re: HE300VG
Post by: hakcenter on October 11, 2017, 04:53:50 PM
the 300VG communicates exactly like the older 351ve actuator. The addressing, commands, everything is exactly the same.

The pin outs are different.

From the wiki : holset_vgt [Lil' Blackbox] (http://wiki.lilbb.com/holset_vgt#pin_outs)

(http://wiki.lilbb.com/_media/vgt:he300vg_connector.jpg?w=300&tok=70fdca)

I will say, with the limited time I had with a unit in my hands. It would not zero out, if the gear was manually moved out of spec while the unit was off. So if your unit isn't moving or anything at startup, try to manipulate it by hand and then power it. Eventually you'll find a direction that works. Once it zero's out... you will be able to communicate with it.
Title: Re: HE300VG
Post by: rodn on October 12, 2017, 05:01:00 PM
thanks a lot for the reply
yes that's exactly what is happening.. it is communicating through the CAN, a 351ve talks no problem
when i plug in the 300 it just grunts and moves a 1/4 of a tooth.. have a spare second one that does the same thing
I tried turning each of them about a tooth at a time (until I wore the end of my thumb off)   :(

there has to be a command you would think to send to this thing to get it to zero?

ideas anyone?

thanks again

Title: Re: HE300VG
Post by: hakcenter on October 12, 2017, 06:57:59 PM
The calibrate command is the same as the send position command, if you're using an arduino to talk to it, but instead of the 0x01 byte, change it to 0x02.


byte lo_byte = lowByte(final_vane_position);
byte hi_byte = highByte(final_vane_position);
byte data[] = { lo_byte, hi_byte, 0x01, 0xFF, 0xFF, 0xFF, 0xFF, 0xFF }; // data message with an added counter
// data[2] = 0x02 for recalibrating gearbox
// Load message and send
send_turbo_position(data);


If you think it's working, just try to send it 900 position.
Title: Re: HE300VG
Post by: Rx7man on October 12, 2017, 10:44:45 PM
I had to do this on my 351 when I moved the vanes manually when reassembling it after a turbine swap
Title: Re: HE300VG
Post by: rodn on October 13, 2017, 09:15:17 PM
no luck with either of them tries moving the gear and powering it up until I wore my thumb off, while cycling power, while sending data... thinking there must be a zeroing command that has to be sent to the box.. it is alive and I have 2 way can  (send and receive) the motor jogs when powered .. moves about 1/2 a tooth and that's all.

any more suggestions or ideas I can try guys?

thanks again
Title: Re: HE300VG
Post by: hakcenter on October 14, 2017, 09:00:07 AM
what are you using to send it data ?
Title: Re: HE300VG
Post by: rodn on October 14, 2017, 10:39:06 AM
using arduino
I can talk to a 351ve no problem and it can move and calibrate no problem...

feel like there is a missing link for the HE300VG as far as a command to send to it to establish a 0 reference

thanks for the help

Title: Re: HE300VG
Post by: hakcenter on October 14, 2017, 06:39:49 PM
like i said, i had one in hand, it was a pita just moving it until it finally would accept commands.

The direction that it tries to zero to just keep spinning it by hand that way. and powering it every 1/4 turn
Title: Re: HE300VG
Post by: rodn on October 16, 2017, 11:32:50 PM
you are right sir
finally got one to work and calibrate and moves fine...
kept on moving it a little bit and powering it off and on while sending the calibration 0x02 to it finally it took off and calibrated
funny has to be some sort of command that its looking for to initialize or zero off the unit.. can't see this being the normal way to get these beasts going

thanks again

Title: Re: HE300VG
Post by: hakcenter on October 17, 2017, 07:51:12 AM
I'm honestly not sure on startup procedure, I had limited time with the unit. Once you get it zero'd as long as you don't move it accidentally it'll communicate no problem all day :)
Title: Re: HE300VG
Post by: Rx7man on October 18, 2017, 09:38:13 AM
It just gets all confused if it gets moved when it's not powered up.. There are two holes on the backplate of the sector gear, I think you might be able to power the the actuator up, then align the hole in the sector gear with the hole that ISN'T at the far open end of the stroke, and assemble it.
Turbolab of america has a little video about it on youtube, I'll try and find it
Title: Re: HE300VG
Post by: rodn on October 18, 2017, 01:43:12 PM
thanks!